miscellaneous Idaho beans

About Us

Threshing a bean field

The Idaho Bean Commission was created in 1957 by the Idaho State Legislature. It consists of eight members appointed by the Governor. Each Commissioner is actively engaged in growing, processing, or shipping beans produced in Idaho.

The Commissionís mission is to promote Idahoís premier reputation as a consistent, top-quality, disease-free, dry and green bean seed producer and to promote beans as a nutritious and healthy food.

A tax collected from growers, handlers or dealers funds the Commissionís financial operations.

Board Members of the Idaho Bean Commission:

  • Michael Goodson, Chairman
  • Bill Bitzenburg
  • John Dean
  • Monty Hamilton
  • Doug Huettig
  • Gina Lohnes
  • Dana Rasmussen
  • Don Tolmie

821 W. State Street
Boise, ID 83702
Phone: 208.334.3520
Fax: 208.334.2442